​​​​​At Our Lady of the Rosary, the Australian Curriculum Version 9 is the source of all curriculum planning, assessment and reporting for all Learning Areas covered by the Australian Curriculum, as well as the Religious Education Curriculum of the Brisbane Catholic Archdiocese.

 The Learning areas are:

• Religious Education

• English

• Mathematics

• Health and Physical Education (HPE)

• Science

• Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)    

  • Disciplines of History and Geography from Prep, Civics and Citizenship from Year 3, and Economics and Business from Year 5.

• The Arts (Music, Dance, Visual Arts, Drama & Media Arts)

• Technologies (Digital Technology and Design & Technology)

• Languages – Japanese​





BCE Model of Pedagogy 

At Our Lady of the Rosary, we use the Brisbane Catholic Education Model of Pedagogy to provide evidence-based, precision and responsive teaching that results in learning progress and achievement for each student. The BCE Model of Pedagogy brings together the principles and practices of learning and teaching that lead to success for all learners.2024.png

Image © BCE, Our Lady of the Rosary School​, Caloundra  (2024)

Early Years Learning

Our Prep to Year 2 incorporates the early years at Our Lady of the Rosary School. The early years of schooling are a crucial time for children. This phase of learning is crucial to the development of values, understandings, beliefs and capabilities which will underpin future learning and development. Children's learning is dynamic, complex and holistic. They use their individual capacity to initiate, lead and make decisions about their learning, actively co-construct and review their learning and contribute to the learning of others through experimentation, play and practice in the classroom and beyond.


In Brisbane Catholic Education Schools, teaching in the Early Years is characterised by …

·         The acknowledgement of the connectedness of young children's mind, body and spirit

·         Curriculum planning that builds upon children's rich and diverse prior knowledge and experiences

·         Children's agency and voice as they actively engage in meaningful learning contexts in the early phase of schooling.


At Our Lady of the Rosary, priority is given to literacy and numeracy development because these are the foundation on which further learning is built. This foundation is built primarily in English and Mathematics, however, is also reinforced and strengthened through all curriculum learning areas.

5 Contexts for Learning 

Teaching in the early years is characterised by a modal of pedagogy referred to as the 5 contexts for learning. These contexts for learning and development are:

·         Play:

The purpose of play is to support and extend children's learning and development. Play occurs in both indoor and outdoor environments and provides a powerful context for children to actively engage socially, emotionally, physically and intellectually with people, objects and representations.

·         Real Life Situations

The purpose of real-life situations enable children to build connections between home, community and classroom experiences.

·         Investigations: 

The purpose of investigations allow children to explore, inquire and test ideas.

·         Routines and Transitions

The purpose of routines and transitions provide important opportunities for meaningful learning where children are supported in gaining familiarity with classroom practices and culture.

·         Focused Learning and Teaching: 

The purpose of focused learning and teaching provide opportunities for teachers to purposefully and skilfully make learning explicit as children co-construct their understandings.

The 5 contexts provide opportunities for children to problem solve, experiment, take risks, persist, sustain interactions and co-construct knowledge. Creating learning opportunities within these contexts offers a balanced, evidence-based approach through purposeful, focused, and targeted learning planned from the curriculum that also offers opportunities for sensory, concrete, creative and social engagement.


At Our Lady of the Rosary, we use the Australian Curriculum Achievement Standards for making assessment judgements. In the Australian Curriculum, achievement standards describe what students are typically able to understand and able to do. As a community, we focused on developing assessment capable learners, who have the confidence and skills to demonstrate their knowledge, understanding and proficiencies across all learning areas and in real world situations.


Assessment plays an integral role in improving learning and informing teaching. Teachers identify, gather and interpret evidence to make informed judgments about student learning progress and achievement. Teachers use a variety of assessment techniques to gather evidence of student learning including observations, focused analysis and tasks, periodic testing, checklists, self & peer assessment, and feedback.



At Our Lady of the Rosary, reporting is drawn from a number of reporting practices, both formal and informal, to build a school and home partnership to support our students learning progress. These practices include:



Written Report Cards

Parent Teacher Conferences

Parent Teacher Information Sessions

Student Support Team Meetings

Open Days

Class Celebrations of Learning

NAPLAN Results

Parental Involvement in class/school activities

Before & after school conversations

Notes between home and school

Emails between home and school

Telephones calls

Class / Year level newsletters